ICC World Cricket League Division 1 team of the tournament named

Amsterdam, 11 July 2010

Ireland’s Trent Johnston appointed captain

The ICC today announced the team of the tournament for the ICC World Cricket League Division 1 which finished in the Netherlands on Saturday.

Ireland retained the title when it defeated Scotland by six wickets at VRA in Amstelveen while Afghanistan defeated the Netherlands by five wickets in the third-fourth position play-off at VOC in Rotterdam. At Excelsior Cricket Club in Schiedam, Canada recorded back-to-back victories over Kenya when it won by three wickets in the fifth-sixth position play-off.

The team was chosen by a select group of experts* who were given the task of picking a balanced side for all conditions on the basis of performances in the tournament. Statistics were used but were not the sole basis for selections.

The selectors chose Ireland’s Trent Johnston as captain of the side that also includes player of the tournament, Tom Cooper of the Netherlands. The side, which includes a 12th man, contains four players from Ireland, two each from Afghanistan, the Netherlands and Scotland, and one each from Canada and Kenya.

The team (in batting order):
  1. Paul Stirling (Ireland)
  2. Ashish Bagai (Canada) (wicketkeeper)
  3. Tom Cooper (The Netherlands)
  4. Nawroz Mangal (Afghanistan)
  5. Kevin O’Brien (Ireland)
  6. Neil McCallum (Scotland)
  7. Thomas Odoyo (Kenya)
  8. Samiullah Shenwari (Afghanistan)
  9. Trent Johnston (Ireland) (captain)
  10. George Dockrell (Ireland)
  11. Mark Jonkman (The Netherlands)
12th man Gordon Drummond (Scotland)

*The selection panel that chose the ICC World Cricket League Division 1 team of the tournament consisted of Adrian Griffith (ex-West Indies Test opener and ICC match referee), Kumar Dharmasena (former Sri Lanka off-spinner, a member of the Sri Lanka squad that won the ICC Cricket World Cup in 1996 and is now member of the Emirates International Panel of ICC Umpires), Jeroen Smits (Former Netherlands captain), Rob Kemming (tournament director and member of the KNCB) and Ian Callender (a leading cricket journalist for outlets including Cricket Europe).

Further details on the ICC WCL Div.1 can be found at www.iccevents.yahoo.com.

Filed July 13th, 2010