Captains of the eight participating teams unveiled the trophy for the upcoming fourth edition of the Emerging Teams Asia Cup 2019 on Tuesday as Bangladesh is all set to host the event, which will begin from November 14, for the second time.

Sami Ullah Shenwari, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mohammad Aizaz Khan, Belur Ravi Sharath, Gyanendra Malla, Syed Amir Kaleem, Saud Shakeel and Charith Asalanka - the captains of Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Hong Kong, India, Nepal, Oman, Pakistan and Sri Lanka - also took part in a photo session after the event.

Captains of the participating teams

Five Test playing nations along with three associate members of the ICC, split into two groups, will battle it out for the title of the flagship event.

Group A features defending champions Sri Lanka alongside Pakistan, Afghanistan and Oman while hosts Bangladesh, India, Hong Kong and Nepal make up Group B.

The top two teams of each group will qualify for the semifinals, which will be held on November 20 and 21.

The Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur will host the semifinals as well as the final, which will take place on November 23.


Tournament page

Filed November 13th, 2019