Emerging Teams Asia Cup Day 3 Review

India V Afghanistan (Group A)

Toss: India won the toss and elected to bat

Afghanistan surprised one and all with their stupendous performance in this Emerging Teams Asia Cup 2017 by defeating India by 2 wickets here in Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium, Chittagong. As a reward for this historic victory, Afghanistan have qualified for semi finals of the tournament and eventually eliminated one of the pre-tournament favorites India. Earlier in the day, Sri Lanka defeated Malaysia by a huge margin of 205 runs which ensured their spot in semi finals owing to their higher NRR.

Chasing a target of 243, Afghanistan’s top order fired from all cylinders to put India under pressure. They were cruising to victory at one stage when they were 146-2 in 28th over thanks to half centuries from Younas Ahmadzai (51) and Sami Shinwari (50). But a collapse forced by the Indian bowlers made life difficult for Afghan batsmen until Gulbadin Naib and Sharafudin Ashraf came into bat. They scored some crucial 20 and 26* runs respectively to ensure there were no hiccups. Aftab Alam, who came in after the dismissal of Naib, finished the match in style with a first ball six and helped his side get through the line with 3.3 overs remaining.

After opting to bat first, India must have entered the dressing room disappointedly after managing to score just 242 runs. Hanuma Vihari scored an unbeaten 59 from 60 balls while all the top 4 batsmen couldn’t convert their starts into big scores which eventually marked their downfall. Naveen ul Haq was at his devastating best picking up 4/54 in his 10 overs.

Brief Scores:
India - 242/8 in 50 overs (H Vihari 59*, N ul Haq 4/54) lost to
Afghanistan - 246/8 in 46.3 overs (Y Ahmadzai 51, Nagarkoti 2/29) by 2 wickets
Man of the Match: Naveen ul Haq (Afghanistan)

Sri Lanka v Malaysia (Group A)

Toss: Sri Lanka won the toss, opted to bat first

Sadeera Samarawickrama’s 121 helped Sri Lanka thrash Malaysia by 205 runs and secure a semi final spot in Emerging Teams Asia Cup held here in Bangladesh. After winning the toss and opting to bat, Sri Lanka were off to a good start adding 75 runs for the opening wicket. Samarawickrama was the aggressor of the two, scoring 43 of those runs. Malaysia got back into the game picking up 2 back to back wickets reducing Sri Lanka from 75/0 to 92/2. Sadeera Samarawickrama(121) and Charith Asalanka(78) stitched together 147 runs for the 3rd wicket to take their team to a position of strength and for their other batsmen to launch in the later overs. But once Sadeera Samarawickrama(121,12x4) fell to Rashid Ahad, Sri Lanka kept loosing wickets at regular intervals finishing their innings at 311/9 in 50 overs. Michael Duraisingam ended up with figures of 3/52.

Chasing a stiff target of 312, Malaysia batsman never stood up to the challenge as they kept losing wickets at regular intervals. Left arm spin of Amila Aponsu was found hard to negotiate for the Malaysia batsmen as they were bowled out for 106 in 27.3 overs. Ramly was the top scorer for Malaysia with 29* while Aponsu secured his maiden fife-fer(5/31) for Sri Lanka.

Brief Scores:
Sri Lanka 311/9 in 50 overs(Sadeera Samarawickrama 121, Charith Asalanka 78,Derek Michael Duraisingam 3/52) beat
Malaysia 106/10 in 27.3 overs(Aminuddin Ramly 29*, Amila Aponsu 5/31) by 205 runs
Man of the Match: Sadeera Samarawickrama (Sri Lanka)

Pakistan v Bangladesh (Group B)

Toss: Pakistan won the toss, opted to bat first

Pakistan and Bangladesh played out the match of the tournament so far as the match ended in a tie. Chasing 234 to win Bangladesh finished at 233/8 in their 50 overs. Bangladesh were off to a watchful start early in the innings scoring at 3 runs per over. It was the 3rd wicket partnership that provided the momentum for their innings. Nazmul Hossain Shanto and Mominul Haque added 63 runs for the 3rd wicket before the former fell for 30. Half centuries from Mominul Haque(75,8x4,1x6) and Md Mithun(53,4x4,1x6) kept Bangladesh in the drivers seat. The dismissal of Mominul Haque in the 42nd over created a sense of panic as they lost wickets in the end, to finish at 233 to end the match in a tie.

Earlier in the day, Bangladesh impressive bowling kept Pakistan on their toes and were reduced to 35/4 in 12 overs. Haris Sohail(63,2x4,2x6) and Hammad Azam(30,2x6) began the rebuilding process and added 86 runs for the 5th wicket. Valuable contribution from the lower order batsman helped them reach 233 at the end of the innings.

Brief Scores:
Pakistan 233/8 in 50 overs (Haris Sohail 63, Hussain Talat 57*, Shaif Uddin 3/54) tied with
Bangladesh 233/8 in 50 overs(Mominul Haque 75, Md Mithun 53, Zafar Gohar 2/40)
Man of the Match: Hussain Talat (Pakistan)

Hong Kong v Nepal (Group B)

Toss: Nepal won the toss, opted to field first

Hong Kong suffered their third consecutive loss at the hands of Nepal in the Emerging Teams Asia Cup held at the Sheikh Kamal International Cricket Stadium in Bangladesh on Thursday.

Chasing the 214-run target set by Hong Kong, Nepal reached their target in 42.3 overs after losing just 3 wickets

Earlier, Nepali bowlers did well to restrict the Hong Kong batsmen to a decent total of 214 runs. The Hong Kong opening pair of Cameron McCaulsen and Anshuman Rath gave a good start with 1st wicket partrnership of 95 runs on which the team couldn’t capitalise on the later stage losing wickets at regular intervals. Avinash Karn was the star bowler for Nepal as he took 3 wickets in quick successions. Bhuwan Karki, Sushan Bhari, Gyanendra Malla grabbed 2 wickets each.

For Nepal side’s chase, Captian Gyanendra Malla led from the front by scoring a well paced 70 runs. Opener Asif Sheikh and the Wicketkeeper Batsmen Dilip Nath were not among the runs for Nepal as they left the crease without any stand. Then came in the match winning pair of Dipendra Singh Airee and Sharad Vesawkar who helped to chase down successfully with run a ball unbeaten partnership of 105 runs adding a score of 60 and 55 to their names respectively.

Brief Scores:
Hong Kong - 214/10 in 50 overs (A Rath 51, A Karn 3/29) lost to
Nepal - 220/3 in 44.2 overs (G Malla 70, J Subraymanyan 2/31) by 36 runs
Man of the Match: Gyanendra Malla (Nepal)

Filed March 30th, 2017