Bhutan went against Nepal for the fourth day of the ACC Under-19 Eastern Region Qualifiers, that ended with a 9-wicket win by Nepal.

Bhutan won the toss and elected to bat, and their early batsmen were able to defend their wickets only up to the second over, ending it with just 2 runs. The first wicket fell at 2.2 overs, dismissing Jeewan Ghalley with an lbw for 1. Bhutan held back for as long as they could, keeping the next 5 overs wicket-free. At the 8th over Nepal broke Bhutan’s spell and dismissed two batsmen in just three balls – Dipendra Singh Airee dismissed Ngawang Thinley for 5 and Pem Chedup for a duck. Bhutan stood with 17 runs and three wickets down in 9 overs.

Ugyen Dorji delivered a boundary at 9.2 overs that brought up the team 20 for Bhutan. 8 overs later nothing much happens, with Bhutan only making 6 more runs. Ugyen Dorji gets removed at 18.2 overs for 13 runs, caught and bowled by Dipendra Singh Airee. In just two balls later, he dismissed another batsman – Tshering Penjor for 0 runs, caught by Pranit Thapa Magar.

Going into the 21st over, Gakul Kumar Ghalley delivers a boundary before being dismissed soon after by Dipendra Singh Airee for 4. Bhutan had lost 6 batsmen then, and stood with only 36 runs. Tashi Phuntsho brought another boundary for Bhutan, hitting the team 40. Unfortunately, Bhutan lost their 7th batsman shortly after, as Dorji Thinley got dismissed by Sandeep Lamichhane for 1.

Sandeep returned to bowl at 26 overs, dismissing two batsmen in three balls during his performance. He removed Tshering Norbu for 1 with an lbw and Yowon Pradhan for a duck with a bowl – ending the over at 47-9 for Bhutan.

The last wicket was to Sandeep Lamichhane again, removing Tashi Phuntsho for 16. Bhutan’s innings ended with all batsmen out in just 27.6 overs, leaving Nepal to collect 51 runs to win.

Nepal’s chase was brief. Sandeep Sunar swung a double boundary in the third over, and another in the fifth. Asif Sheikh continued the boundary-chain with another boundary at 5.3 overs and another at 6.1 overs.

Shortly after, Tshering Penjor dismissed Sandeep Sunar for 21 at 6.5 overs – but Nepal has already done their damage with only 12 runs remaining to win the match. One run later, Mahamad Asif Sheikh hits another boundary, and later on made another three runs – winning Nepal the match in just 8.3 overs.


Bhutan v Nepal at Kinrara
Bhutan won the toss and chose to bat
Bhutan 50 all out off 28 overs (D.Airee 5-23, S.Lamichhane 4-7)
Nepal: 51 for 1 off 8.3 overs (S.Sunar 21, MA.Sheikh 23*)

Tournament page

Photos by Vincent Phoon

Filed September 13th, 2017