Nepal totals Thailand with an astounding 281 run for 7, making it difficult for their opponents to make their chase.

The match started with Nepal’s innings, with the first wicket taken at the 8th over, dismissing Mahamad Asif for 21 runs – caught by Prakit Jantarachit off Kamron Senanmontree.

Anil Kumar Sah took over, and he and Sandeep Sunar was able to establish a strong partnership, bringing the score up to 94. The partnership ended when Sunar got taken out by Payuputh Sungnard for 32 runs at the 18.5 over.

Dipendra Singh made it harder for Thailand – he delivered a 6 at the 25th over while they were standing at 127-2. Anil Kumar Sah swung another 6 in the 26th over, bringing up his 60th run and was already expected to make the first century run for the games. Dipendra Singh and Anil Kumar continued their batting rage up to the 28th over. Just as they made their 52nd partnership run, Dipendra left the field from a catch by Agam Sanjay off Panasak Daenmalidoi for 22 runs.

Into the 31st over, Anil Kumar Sah swung a beautiful 6, going past the boundary line and into the stands – he was at 77 runs then, with Nepal at 165-3. He was going hard for that century run – he made two more boundaries but only 9 runs away from his 100th run, he misses that chance when swung a very close 6 but the ball gets caught at the boundary by Sakchai Prakae. Thailand 180-4.

It was quiet a few overs later as Nepal makes their steady climb and reaches 200 runs in just 39 overs. At 44.2, Rohit Kumar Paudel was dismissed caught by Panasak Daenmalidoi off Patuputh Sungnard for 28.

Pranit Thapa Magar then made numerous boundaries (three 4s and one 6), bringing up Nepal’s run-count to 250 with 5 wickets still remaining. Just as he made his 50th run, Sakchai Prakae catches his swing, forcing him to walk out the field.

The innings concluded with a wicket at the last ball of the match, due to a very risky run by Pawan Sarraf after delivering two boundary 6s. Nepal left Thailand to chase 282 in order to win the match, but ended Thailand’s chase early with 10 wickets down within the first 10 overs.

At the first ball itself Nepal dismissed Thailand’s opening batsman; Puwat Rastanaumnuaykool with a bowl from Nandan Yadav – and it just started raining wickets from there. The first ball of the next over, Agam Sanjay Shah was forced out the field after a catch by Shahab Alam off Kishor Mahato after making only 1 run. 2 wickets down, and Thailand only had 2 runs made. In the third over, Sandeep Lamichhane took two wickets – he dismissed Kamron Senamontree for 6 and Kiatiwut Suttisan for 2.

At the 5th over, Sandeep returned to bowl once again and took another 2 wickets, this time dismissing Payuputh Sungnard and Prakit Jantarachit for a duck. With only 4 wickets left and only 17 runs, the match has already ended for Thailand – but Sandeep was not taking any risks. At the 7th over he dismissed yet another; Panasak Daenmalidoi, bowled for 8 runs.

One over later, Sakchai Prakae moves in and bowled Dependra Singh Airee before he could make any runs. Thailand at this point only had 21 runs and 8 wickets already down. Thailand’s short but stirring innings ended with the last two wickets to Sandeep that dismissed Sarawut Maliwan and Saran Maliwan for 1 each, ending the game right before rainfall at 9.6 overs.


Nepal v Thailand at Club Aman
Thailand won the toss and elected to field
Nepal: 281 for 7 off 50 overs (S.Sunar 32, A.Kumar 91, P.Magar 50; P.Sungnard 3-61)
Thailand: 26 all out off 10 overs (S.Lamichhane 7-6)

Tournament page

Photos by Peter Lim

Filed September 11th, 2017