It was a short and sweet start for Malaysia’s first match of the tournament against Myanmar, winning by 9 wickets. First innings sees Malaysia toppling 10 wickets in 11.3 overs, with Myanmar only able to notch 49 runs. Second innings sees Malaysia making 50 in 7.4 overs. SAS Mubarak stars with 21 runs in 17 hits, scoring two 4s and a 6.

A wet morning delays the match by 45 minutes. Malaysia wins the toss and chooses to field, putting SAS Mubarak to bowl to a Swann Htet Ko Ko - Paing Danu partnership. The very first hit lands a 4 by Ko Ko who manages 7 runs before bowled out. The next shot by SAS Mubarak bowls out Paing Danu, leaving incoming Kaung Htet Phyo on the field and joined by Myo Htet Htun in the 2nd over. Haiqal Khair manages to take out Myo Htet Htun and returning SAS Mubarak bowls out Kaung Htet Phyo in the 3rd over. At this point Myanmar has notched 9 runs for 4 wickets.

Over 4 sees no movement in the score and SAS Mubarak taking two wickets, Than Ko and Htet Arkar Ko for 3 runs in the 5th over. Htet Aung hits a 4 but not before Mohammad Arief bowls out Nay Lin Aung the 7th batsman. Htet Aung muscles up to hit a 4 after Nay Lin Tun is bowled out and Kyaw Min Htay steps in to partner in the 7th Over, gaining 5 runs in the next 2 overs, bringing the total to 33. At 8 wickets down in the 10th over, Myanmar’s Htet Aung again hunkers down to bat a 4 and gain 6 points with partner Kyaw Min Htay.

Standing his ground, Kway Min Htay swings a 4, gaining 8 points before bowled out by Mohammed Islah, to a score of 47 for 9. The 12th over sees 10th batsman Htet Aung gaining 2 runs before outed by Mohammad Arief, ending the first innings at 49 for 10, in 11.3 overs, within 2 hours.

With the sun overhead, Malaysia bats in the 2nd Innings featuring their first partnership of SAS Mubarak and Nalin De Silva against all rounder Paing Danu. A target of 50 runs sets the match into motion, but starts with an uninteresting first over. Picking up the pace, SAS Mubarak hits two 4s to Than Ko’s bowls in the 2nd over, and a 6 in the 3rd over to Paing Danu. At this point the score is 22 for 0 and Malaysia trots up another 5 runs in the 4th over.

Paing Danu’s throw knocks out SAS Mubarak, who leaves the pitch for 27 runs and is replaced by another all rounder, Virandeep, who spices up the game in the next overs, raking up two 4s to a 6th Over total of 39 for 1. Paing Danu continues bowling to Nalin-Virandeep partnership, affording them 6 runs in the 7th over and 6 points shy of the target. This is easily plucked in the 8th Over when Nalin scores a 4 and gets a free point for wide, toppling Myanmar 50 for 1.


Malaysia v Myanmar at Kinrara
Malaysia won the toss and elected to field
Myanmar: 49 all out off 11.3 overs (SA.Mubarak 6-24)
Malaysia: 50 for 1 off 7.4 overs (SA.Mubarak 21)

Tournament page

Photos by Peter Lim

Filed September 10th, 2017