From the ICC: The International Cricket Council (ICC) has announced the details of the annual Pepsi ICC Development Programme Awards for 2013. (Nominations must be submitted to the ACC Secretariat by 20 December 2013)

The Awards, which have been running since 2002, form part of the ICC’s commitment to promoting excellence in cricket development outside the ICC’s Full Members. The Awards recognise exceptional performance and service to the game in ICC Associate and Affiliate Members, highlighting cricket’s expanding reach, promoting innovation and sharing better practice.

Speaking on the Pepsi ICC Development Programme Awards 2013, ICC Global Development Manager Tim Anderson said: “The Pepsi ICC Development Programme, alongside the ICC’s Associate and Affiliate Members, is dedicated to the growth of cricket across the globe. With over one million people now participating in cricket programmes in our emerging territories, considerable progress has been made in this regard, and we’ve seen tremendous examples of this both on and off the field during 2013.

“These Awards are therefore ICC’s opportunity to shine a light on some of the outstanding programmes and initiatives that are contributing to the expansion of our great game around the world, as well as recognizing the dedicated people that continue to make vital contributions,” he said.

“The eight Award categories reflect the Development aspects of the ICC Strategic Plan, which strives for cricket to be A Bigger, Better, Global Game by 2015. As we work towards that goal, I encourage all Members to submit their nominations for the 2013 Awards.”

There are a total of eight awards across a range of country and individual categories. Nominations are initially considered on a regional basis, with the various regional winners then progressing to the global stage. Further details and application forms are available on

Nominations need to be submitted to ICC regional offices by 20 December 2013. Regions will select and announce the respective regional winners by 25 January 2014, with these then also put forward for the global judging process that will take place during February. The global winners will be announced on 28 February 2014.

All global winners will receive a cricket equipment grant to their national cricket body, with the amounts detailed below. The Volunteer of the Year and Lifetime Service Award winners will also have their biography featured on the ICC website during 2014, as will the Photo of the Year, which will also feature on any other appropriate ICC Development Programme Resources.

The Awards categories are as follows:
  • Best Overall Cricket Development Programme ($4,000)
  • Best Women’s Cricket Initiative ($2,000)
  • Best Junior Participation Initiative ($2,000)
  • Best Cricket Promotional and Marketing Programme ($2,000)
  • Best Spirit of Cricket Initiative ($2,000)
  • Photo of the Year ($1,000)
  • Volunteer of the Year ($1,000)
  • Lifetime Service Award ($1,000)
The panel to decide the global winners includes ICC President Alan Isaac, previous ICC Presidents Malcolm Gray, Ehsan Mani, David Morgan and Sharad Pawar, as well as John Stephenson as a representative of the MCC.

Iran’s Monir Habibi Wins Global Development Award
Asia’s 2012 Development Winners
Previous Asia Region winners

Filed November 8th, 2013