For each of the past eight years, the International Cricket Council has recognised the work and achievements of individuals and Associations in the developing cricket world through a series of awards.

The Pepsi ICC Development Programme Awards for 2009 form part of the ICC’s commitment to promoting excellence in cricket development. The awards are designed to recognise exceptional performance and service to the game in ICC Associate and Affiliate Member countries.

ICC Global Development Manager Matthew Kennedy says, “Previous years have seen exceptional cricket programmes and initiatives highlighted and I have no doubt this year will be no different.”

There are a total of eight awards across a range of country and individual categories. Nominations are initially considered on a regional basis with the various winners then progressing to the global stage.

The format of this year’s awards is similar to previous years with all 2009 nominations being submitted to ICC regional offices by 20 December. Regions will select and announce the respective regional winners by 25 January with these then also put forward for the global judging process that will take place during February. Winners will be announced on 28 February.

All global winners in the following categories will receive a US$2,000 ICC equipment grant for their national cricket body:

  • Best Overall Cricket Development Programme
  • Best Women’s Cricket Initiative
  • Best Junior Cricket Initiative
  • Best Cricket Promotional and Marketing Programme
  • Photo of the Year
  • Best Spirit of Cricket Initiative in Partnership with UNAIDS and UNICEF
  • Volunteer of the Year
  • Lifetime Service Award

Last year’s global Asia region winner was HRH Tunku Imran of Malaysia, who received with the Lifetime Service Award.

Pepsi ICC Development Programme Awards
Pepsi ICC Development Programme (Video)
Asia’s 2008 Winners

Filed Nov 9th, 2009