Bhutan held its third national Twenty20 Championship this year, new team Dot Com coming through as winners in the eight-team tournament. Dot Com were unbeaten throughout, winning by six wickets over BTCL in the final. National team all-rounder Jigme Singye was Player of the Tournament.

Bhutan will be making their debut in the ACC Twenty20 Cup in Nepal in December, and know that a top three finish there will guarantee them a place in the ICC World T20 Qualifier in early 2012, where a place in the ICC World T20 beckons. “We know that’s the path laid out, we know that Afghanistan got there last time, we want to give ourselves the best possible chance of being there,” says Bhutan’s National Coaching Co-ordinator Damber Singh Gurung.

Bhutan, notable for their rise from Challenge to Elite Levels in a number of ACC tournaments in recent years, “want to do more than survive at senior Elite Level”, says Damber. “ACC Trophy and ACC Twenty20 is very important because it is something that all the young cricketers here can aspire to. It is there that they play against Afghanistan, Hong Kong, Nepal and UAE, and it there that they can really learn top-level cricket,” says the coach.

Inside Bhutan conditions remain difficult for cricketers, there aren’t yet quite enough grounds for them to play and practice and the ones that do exist aren’t the best for strokeplay. Nevertheless, the players persevere and impress and “the good thing about this year’s Twenty20 is the amount of support we received from the public. Sponsors have yet to fully wake up to the possibilities but the first year we had the 50-over BCCB Super League, national airline Druk Air were the sponsors. This Twenty20 we had more teams than before,” says Bhutan Cricket Council Board (BCCB) Chief Executive Jigme Norbu.

Jigme Singye Susil Sharma Dr. Sampath

There was prize money available in this year’s BCCB Twenty20 Championship: Dot Com received Ngultrum 30000 (US$675) for winning the event, Player of the Tournament all-rounder Jigme Singye received Ngultrum 3000 and Susil Sharma received Ngultrum 1000 for being Best Batsman as did Dr. Sampath for being the Best Bowler.

Bhutan Olympic Secretary General Sonam Karma Tshering was the chief guest at the Final.

Pictures from BCCB

Bhutan Cricket Profile

Filed May 24th, 2011