(L to R): Sri Lanka Cricket Treasurer Sujeewa Rajapakse, Sri Lanka Cricket CEO Duleep Mendis, ACC Chief Executive Syed Ashraful Huq, Sri Lanka Cricket Secretary Nishantha Ranatunga and ACC Finance Manager Thusith Perera

A press conference was held at Sri Lanka Cricket headquarters in Colombo recently to officially launch the tenth Asia Cup. Consisting of the top four Asian teams, the Asia Cup will be played in Sri Lanka between June 15th and 25th. Sri Lanka are the defending champions of the Asia Cup, having won the last tournament in 2008.

The ACC and broadcasters Nimbus Sport have an agreement worth over US$ 50 million where Nimbus has acquired the global commercial rights for the next three Asia Cups in 2010, 2012 and 2014. ACC Chief Executive Syed Ashraful Huq said, “We are confident that this partnership with Nimbus Sport will help the event to continue to grow its premier status exponentially across the World and the funds raised by this agreement will go a long way in creating possibilities for more Asian nations to play at the highest level possible.”

Sri Lanka: 2008 Asia Cup Champions

Sri Lanka has played in every final since the tournament's inception and The Rangiri International Stadium in Dambulla will play host to all seven of this year’s matches. The stadium may hold 20,000 but the television audience will be significantly more with Neo Sports broadcasting all matches live. Nimbus Sport have previously collaborated with the ACC in the broadcasting of the 2007 Afro-Asia Cup. Sri Lanka and India have been the most successful in previous tournaments, winning the Asia Cup four times each with Pakistan winning once.

Tournament Page

Filed May 12th, 2010