The Hong Kong National selection panel has chosen their team for the upcoming Asia Cup to be held in Pakistan from June 24 to July 6.

The team leaves for Lahore on June 10 where they will play five 50-over matches against local opposition. Hong Kong will also undergo training in Lahore before flying to Karachi to play their Asia Cup matches.

“A young team has been chosen by the selectors not only for the Asia Cup but the ACC Trophy as well,” said Hong Kong Cricket’s General Manager, Charles Lau.

Manager Ravi Nagdev says, “It is encouraging to see a good mix of youth and experience in the squad. Hong Kong is looking to climb the cricket world rankings and this team may just play in the ICC World Cricket League Division 4 in October.”

Five of the squad has played in the 2004 Asia Cup and they look to guide the younger players in what will be their very first ODI experience.

"The idea our selectors have is to build a team for the future. The Asia Cup will give the youngsters a chance to prove themselves and playing on such a big stage will be an extra motivator to participate in this tournament again. It will certainly be a day to remember for both Hong Kong cricket as well as the players," added Mr. Nagdev.

Tabarak Dar in action at the 2006 ACC Trophy

Hong Kong’s Captain Tabarak Dar was born in Pakistan but migrated to Hong Kong when he was just a seventeen-year-old.

“I’ve been in Hong Kong since 1994 and have enjoyed playing here. When I was in Pakistan I never really played at the highest level, just school and college cricket but I am very excited to go back and play again in the Asia Cup. Scoring 36 against Pakistan in the 2004 Asia Cup is one of my best memories and I look to better that. This is a great occasion for the newcomers and we will be competitive in all our games,” said Dar.

Hong Kong squad

Tabarak Dar RHB/RMF (Captain)
Courtney Kruger RHB/OB (Vice Captain)
Skhawat Ali RHB/RMF
Irfan Ahmed RHB/RMF
Butt Hussain RHB/RMF
Nadeem Ahmed RHB/SLA
Munir Dar RHB/SLA
Najeeb Amar LHB/SLA
Afzaal Haider RHB/RMF
Ashish Gadhia RHB/RMF
James Atkinson RHB/WK
Zain Abbas RHB/RMF
Roy Lamsam RHB/RMF
Wakas Barkat RHB/WK
Toby BrownLHB/LMF

Hong Kong Cricket Association

Filed May 22, 2008