Schoolgirls in Brunei, their first experience of cricket: ICC Picture of the Year 2011
Picture by Haji Rusdi

Brunei Darrussalam Cricket Association and Oman’s Kanak Khimji have been the Asian region’s winners at the tenth Pepsi ICC Development Programme Annual Awards. Brunei won Photo of the Year and Oman Cricket Chairman Kanak Khimji receives the Lifetime Service Award.

This year’s judging panel featured current ICC President Sharad Pawar, alongside former ICC presidents David Morgan, Ehsan Mani and Malcolm Gray. John Stephenson, the acting Secretary and Chief Executive of Marylebone Cricket Club, completed the line-up.

Brunei’s Photo of the Year was taken last July during an introductory cricket session at the Girl’s High School at the Brunei-Muara district, which is part of BDCA’s school development projects. Since the photo was taken, the school has created its own cricket team and Brunei hopes to field a team in an ACC U-19 women’s event in 2014.

“The great thing about the picture is that it shows how Brunei are taking a step away from relying on imported players or players without roots in the country and focussing on creating players from within. This was very much the desire of the late BDCA Chief Executive Manzur Ahmed and it is being continued by his successors,” says ACC Development Officer for Brunei Aminul Islam.

Oman’s Kanak Khimji awarding a prize, last year’s Global Lifetime Service Award recipient UAE’s Mazhar Khan also present

Kanak Khimji’s Award is due recognition for close to 40 years spent playing and administering the game in Oman. Without his financial support Oman’s cricket would be be in a far more parlous state than it is and generations of cricketers in the country have him to thank for their playing opportunities. “It is a wonderful achievement and absolutely fair reward for one of the game’s great supporters,” says ACC Development Officer for Oman Iqbal Sikander.

ICC Global Development Manager Tim Anderson said of this year’s awards: “Once again it is fantastic to see so many outstanding initiatives and people recognised for their contribution to making cricket a bigger, better global game.

“On behalf of the ICC I would like to congratulate all the award winners and the nominees who were unsuccessful this year – your continued dedication to cricket’s growth around the world is making a substantial difference and we thank you for your efforts.”

The national cricket bodies of all global winners receive a US$2,000 cricket equipment grant.

The 2011 winners:
Best Overall Cricket Development Programme – Cricket Ireland
Best Women’s Cricket Initiative – Cricket Scotland
Best Junior Participation Initiative – Cricket PNG
Best Cricket Promotion and Marketing Programme – Cricket Canada
Best Spirit of Cricket Initiative – Japan Cricket Association
Photo of the Year – Brunei Darussalam Cricket Association
Volunteer of the Year – Aliya Bauer (Kenya)
Lifetime Service Award – Kanak Khimji (Oman)

Asia’s Development Winners
Brunei Cricket Profile
Oman Cricket Profile

Filed March 1st, 2012