Thirty-five years as player, promoter and administrator in the UAE by Mazhar Khan have been recognized by the ICC bestowing upon him a Development Programme Lifetime Service Award. "It's a great feeling when you get recognition for your work," says Mr. Khan, "The award is a tribute to all those involved in developing cricket in the UAE."

The International Cricket Council (ICC) Development Programme Annual Awards are committed to promoting excellence in cricket development and recognising exceptional performance and service to the game in Associate and Affiliate Member countries. The main objectives are to:

  • Promote and recognise excellence, professionalism and innovation among the cricket development activities of ICC Associate and Affiliate Members
  • Increase awareness of the sport of cricket at both elite and grass roots level of ICC Associate and Affiliate

This year’s judging panel featured current ICC President Sharad Pawar, alongside former ICC Presidents David Morgan, Ehsan Mani and Malcolm Gray. Keith Bradshaw, the Secretary and Chief Executive of Marylebone Cricket Club, completed the line-up.

ICC Acting Global Development Manager Tim Anderson said of this year’s awards: “It’s great to again see such outstanding initiatives and people leading the development of our great sport around the world. They deserve this recognition.”

This year’s Pepsi ICC Development Programme Award winners:

Best Overall Cricket Development Programme – Cricket Scotland
Best Women’s Cricket Initiative – Japan Cricket Association
Best Junior Participation Initiative – Cricket PNG
Best Cricket Promotion and Marketing Programme – Cricket PNG and Cricket Ireland
Best Spirit of Cricket Initiative – Suriname Cricket Association
Photo of the Year – Bermuda Cricket Board (Fiona Holmes)
Volunteer of the Year – Neil Saint (France)
Lifetime Service Award – Mazhar Khan (UAE)

The national cricket bodies of all global winners receive a US$2,000 cricket equipment grant.

Global Development Awards for Nepal
UAE Cricket Profile

Filed March 2nd, 2011