Nepal's coach Roy Dias preparing his team for the challenges ahead.

Nepal overcame a plucky Uganda to win their Plate Quarter-Final by 60 runs.

Batting first, Nepal’s batsmen found it hard at first to come to terms with the Ugandan attack, the ball skidding on to the bat, making timing and strokeplay very difficult. Left-arm paceman Charles Waiswa struck early, removing Kanishka Chaugai and Sarad Vesawkar. A brief rally was staged by Mahesh Chhetri (playing his first significant innings of the tournament) and Gyanendra Malla but wickets fell regularly and at 85 for 5, Nepal had a lot to do.

Basant Regmi, given time to build an innings, eschewed the yahoo-heaves which had seen him dismissed in previous matches and with Malla put together a vital 48-run stand which just wrested the initiative away from Uganda.

It was always difficult, however and leg-spinners Ray Otim’s 3-20 and Davis Arinaitwe’s 2-17 reflected just how well Uganda fought for victory.

Finishing on 192 was a little under par, but Nepal would nevertheless have been heartened by the fact that whatever Uganda’s spinners could do, they could do too.

However, the new ball pair of Amrit Bhattarai and Bantu Bataju allowed Uganda’s openers a flying start, Hamzu Almuzahim in particular being in blistering form. It was his dismissal to a run-out that turned the match Nepal’s way and from 56 for 0, wickets started to tumble regularly. Raj Shrestha tied up one end with his left-arm seamers – 8-5-5-1 – and his spinner colleagues chipped in with the other wickets.

Bowlers swamped, fielders swarmed: try as they might, Uganda’s batsmen couldn’t do anything to liberate themselves and Nepal were comfortable winners in the end.

Nepal will play South Africa in the semi-final on the 16th.

Plate Championship Quarter-Final: Nepal v Uganda
Nepal won the toss and elected to bat
Nepal: 192 for 9 off 50 overs (G. Malla 64, B. Regmi 42*; R. Otim 3-20)
Uganda: 132 off 44.3 overs (S. Kesari 3-15)
Man of the Match: Gyanendra Malla (Nepal)
View Scorecard >>

Filed February 15 2006