The Incheon Asian Games Organizing Committee (IAGOC) have accepted the schedule drawn up by the Asian Cricket Council for the Men’s and Women’s Twenty20 matches at the XVIIth Asian Games in September. The draw for team sports took place at Incheon last week, with the schedule for baseball, cricket, hockey and softball being determined by rankings.

The Men’s Event features ten teams – South Korea, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Hong Kong, Kuwait, Malaysia, Maldives, Nepal, and Sri Lanka – and starts on September 27. Defending champions Bangladesh, 2010’s silver medallists Afghanistan, along with Sri Lanka and Hong Kong are seeded and will play the top two from each of the other teams’ two groups at a knock-out stage, starting on September 30, with the Final on October 3, the penultimate day of the Games. The Women – South Korea, Bangladesh, China, Hong Kong, Japan, Malaysia, Nepal, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and Thailand – start playing on September 20, the day after the Games’ Opening Ceremony, with their Gold Medal match on September 26. The top four teams from the 2010 event – gold medallists Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Japan are the women’s seeds.

Pakistan’s women and Bangladesh’s men – their first ever gold medals in the history of the Asian Games, Guangzhou 2010

Close to 10,000 athletes from 45 Asian nations across 36 sports and 48 disciplines will compete in the 439 medal events at Incheon. The 2010 Guangzhou Asian Games had 42 sports and 476 medal events. There is an increasing emphasis on Olympic category sports to be contested at the Asian Games and initially Incheon Asian Games Organising Committee had suggested the removal of cricket from the program because they felt too few countries played it, and because they lacked the infrastructure to host it. However, the Olympic Council of Asia’s position, as championed by its Director of the Asian Games Department and ACC Executive Board Member Haider Farman of Kuwait, is that cricket is too popular, too consciousness-raising and too Asian to exclude from an Asian Games. Unique among Gulf nations, Kuwait are fielding are a team of Arab cricketers in the men’s event this year.

Yeonhui Stadium ready to welcome 20 teams for the Asian Games, the Asiad Main Stadium is in the background
Picture by Noh Soomin


All matches will be played at the brand new Yeonhui International Cricket Stadium, South Korea’s first turf facility. It has a seating capacity of 2,352 and is close to the Incheon Asiad Main Stadium. The square has seven playing strips. ACC Events Manager Sultan Rana who has just returned from an inspection of the stadium says that the picturesque ground, made with Pakistani clay on a sand bed for optimal drainage, will provide a true, if slightly slow, playing surface. Entrance to the cricket stadium is free for all spectators.

The hosts of the next Asian Games in 2018 will be announced on September 20, with Jakarta as leading contenders.

Incheon Asian Games Cricket

Filed August 27th, 2014