ICC MEDIA RELEASE, Dubai, August 8 2011

The six remaining teams that will join the Full Members at the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup 2012 in Australia are now known following the completion of the qualifying tournament in Ireland. And the team groupings for the 15-day celebration of youth cricket have now also been finalized.

The event will get underway in Queensland exactly one year from today and Scotland will be there as the leading Associate after winning eight of its nine matches during the qualifiers, which took place in Dublin and Derry.

Defending champion and host Australia will head Group A having been drawn alongside 1998 winner England, Nepal and Ireland. Group B is made up of the last event’s runner-up and two-time winner Pakistan, New Zealand, Scotland and Afghanistan while 2000 and 2008 champion India has been drawn in Group C along with West Indies, Zimbabwe and PNG. Sri Lanka, South Africa, Bangladesh and Namibia make up Group D.

1. Australia 2. Pakistan 3. West Indies 4. Sri Lanka
8. England 7. New Zealand 6. India 5. South Africa
12. Nepal 11. Scotland 10. Zimbabwe 9. Bangladesh
13. Ireland 14. Afghanistan 15. PNG 16. Namibia

ICC Chief Executive Haroon Lorgat said: “The ICC U19 Cricket World Cup is a very important tournament for us and I want to congratulate those six teams who have qualified to take part in Queensland next year.

“This tournament has proved to be an important stepping stone for elite young cricketers aspiring to play international cricket. It’s an opportunity for them to develop and test their skills in a high-pressure situation against the world’s best at this level.

“We also use it as an opportunity to educate them on several important issues like anti-corruption, anti-doping and social responsibility expected of international cricketers while also exposing them to the ICC Code of Conduct and media attention.

“In the past, we have seen some quality players come through the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup, including star players like Inzamam-ul-Haq, Yuvraj Singh, Brian Lara, Ian Bell, Virat Kohli, Eoin Morgan, Graeme Smith and Hashim Amla. I expect next year’s event to be no different in producing future world stars.”

For more details on the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup Qualifier, click here.

For general information and background on the ICC U19 Cricket World Cup, click here.

For further information please contact:

ICC – Media and Communications Operations Manager
Tel: +971 4 382 8873
Mobile: +971 50 452 8662
Email: This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

PO Box 500 070
Dubai, UAE
Tel: +971 4 382 8800

Filed August 11th, 2011